The Woman in Black 2: Angel of Death (2015) Film Review

Posted: January 4, 2015 in Horrendous Horror Movies
Tags: , , , , ,

I loved The Woman in Black, starring Daniel Radcliffe, and adored Susan Hill’s novella, so when I heard The Woman in Black 2: Angel of Death, directed by Tom Harper, was in theaters, I became incredibly excited!

While clutching a Mountain Dew and devouring a package of Zours, I sat down in the dark theater, mentally preparing myself to be scared shitless. Unfortunately, once the movie began, my excitement vanished because I realized The Woman in Black 2: Angel of Death was nothing more than horribly dark camera shots and mediocre jump scares.

Instead of creating a more original introduction, The Woman in Black 2: Angel of Death copies the beginning from The Woman in Black (see table below).

 The Woman in Black

 The Woman in Black 2: Angel of Death

Introduced to Kipps (Radcliffe), main character Introduced to Eve (Phoebe Fox), main character
Kipps boards train with troubled mind Eve boards train with troubled mind
Kipps meets Sam Daily, a gentleman who sits across from him on train – character will help him throughout the movie Eve meets Harry (Jeremy Irvine), a gentleman who sits across from her on train – character will help her throughout the movie

Geez, where the hell is the creativity anymore?

Like I mentioned above, this movie was incredibly dark; at times, I thought my eyes were failing me because I couldn’t see anything on-screen. Because of the darkness, I couldn’t see the scenery or particular characters…and that really ruined the movie for me. If I don’t know what is happening on-screen, why the hell would I stay interested in the story?

And sure, jump scares are good ONE time…but not EVERY single time.

Another thing to ponder: why is the Woman trying to make Eve’s life a living hell? Shouldn’t the Woman be more sympathetic towards Eve, seeing as both women lost their sons tragically? (Besides, the Woman was given the chance to reunite with her son, yet she passed it up because her grudge against her sister was more important. She should be damn thankful that she was able to see her son again. Poor Eve doesn’t even know where her son is! If you think about it, the Woman is a selfish bitch.)

And I am really disappointed that The Woman in Black 2: Angel of Death became The Grudge 2. I guess the Woman, like the Grudge, can travel outside their homes and begin murdering everyone around them…or is that just a tacky way to create another sequel?

Here are a few more inconsistencies:

  • If Harry, the pilot, is afraid of water, why did he stop in the middle of the marsh while the tide is coming in to tell Eve his tragic story? (Seriously? Why not tell Eve your story when you drive onto DRY land?)
  • When everyone is hiding in the air base, why do they spend ten whole minutes trying to light one candle when Harry could’ve just used his enormous flashlight?
  • Is Edward Eve’s son?
  • Is Eve’s necklace important?
  • Why the hell did the Woman take so much time to kill children? (She had time to wrap red string around the entire house…and then wait until the child followed the string to the nursery, where the child attempted to strangle herself with said string. Really?)
  • Who the hell is the blind man in town?
  • Did the other children survive in the end? (They are NEVER shown again.)

Overall, The Woman in Black 2: Angel of Death was terrible. (At least I enjoyed my Mountain Dew and Zours.)

To watch the trailer, click here

Leave a Reply

