“There’ll be scary ghost stories…”

Posted: December 23, 2014 in Bizarre Tidbits
Tags: ,

One classic English Christmas tradition should be brought back: the telling of ghost stories on Christmas Eve. What is better than curling up nearing a roaring fire, sipping piping hot mulled wine, and spooking one another with creepy ghost stories while winter’s death-like fingers rattle your windows?

And don’t feel bad if you cannot tell one; instead, grab a ghost story off the musty shelf, or rather, watch The Christmas Carol, Rare Exports, or Krampus: The Christmas Devil.

As a horror fanatic, I am saddened that this tradition is disappearing…like flesh off bones. I am also thoroughly disappointed in myself for not instilling this tradition into my own festivities.

But this year will be different.

While I wait for dear ole’ Santa Claus to creep down the chimney, I will be reading The Mist in the Mirror, written by Susan Hill, “nestled all snug [in] my bed.”

Merry Christmas!

If I might be so bold, what will all my other horror fanatics be reading and/or watching on Christmas Eve?

To aid you, I am jotting down a few novel recommendations.

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, Alvin Schwartz

The Woman in Black, Susan Hill

The Harrowing, Alexandra Sokoloff

Mister B. Gone, Clive Barker

Trapped, Jack Kilborn

For movie recommendations, click here.

Leave a Reply

