The Corrupted (2010) Film Review

Posted: November 13, 2014 in Horrendous Horror Movies
Tags: , , , ,

Tentacles, horrendous acting, and DJ Niterider’s sick tunes…yep, this is what holds together The Corrupted, a horror film directed by John Klappstein and Knighten Richman.

The synopsis, according to IMDB.com, reads: “A group of twenty-somethings are enjoying their stay at a lakeside cabin when a series of frightening and bizarre events derail their weekend.”

Oh, and the introduction was just fabulous! As the opening credits roll, I was forced to watch Jeremy, a hippie ginger, strum his guitar while watching waves roll ashore. Soon, a bikini-clad blonde strolled towards Jeremy, and after whispering something into his ear, the screen faded to black.

From that introduction, I knew The Corrupted wouldn’t be good, but I still watched it, hoping, no, praying that it would prove me wrong.

I should have definitely gone with my gut and just stopped watching it.

Do you want to know why Jeremy begins acting differently once the blonde woman whispers in his ear? (SPOILERS) He was, somehow, possessed by a tentacle creature. The Corrupted, though, never explains what the tentacles are, where they came from, or why they are infecting people.

I do know that these tentacles can shoot acidic slime, and they are infecting people in the nearby community. Other than that, I was lost.

I became frustrated because this movie never explained who some of the tentacle people were. Who is the bikini-clad blonde? Was she the leader? Or might the leader have been the creepy old man who lurked in the shrubbery, breathing heavily?

And, now that I think about it, what was up with Lily’s rash? True, she bumped into something in the lake, but what did she brush against? If a tentacle touched her, why would it give her a rash? Why not possess her?

Another downfall of The Corrupted? The actors. No one could act. During ‘scary’ scenes, not one actor could convince me that they were scared. Who, when they see a blood-stained corpse, merely widens their eyes and stiffly walks backwards? Ugh, their acting was pitiful.

Also, why did the directors waste film on unimportant moments? A philosophical moment is not needed in a creature-feature, especially when it ends with: “There’s no more or less to life. It’s just life.” (I bet it took them ages to write that “inspirational” line.) And then, for another five minutes, I had to watch all the teenagers dance horribly to DJ Niterider’s awful music.

With these two scenes in mind, I ask: why?! Why bother including two horrendous scenes that bring absolutely nothing to the story?

I guess I should find something decent to say about The Corrupted, huh? Ah, I got it: the dialogue was hilarious. Here are some of my favorite lines:

  • “Who else here has gotten hammered and got a helicopter to chase them?”
  • “The hairy one with a hangover.”
  • “Your face hurts my eyes.”
  • “What about love, puppies, old geezers?”
  • “They were all wasted efforts on sparkling piles of shit.”

I did not, if you haven’t noticed, like The Corrupted. The acting was horrendous, nothing was explained, and it wasn’t scary at all. I would not recommend it.

To watch the trailer, click here

Leave a Reply

