Alien Abduction (2014) Film Review

Posted: September 2, 2014 in Horrendous Horror Movies
Tags: , , , ,

Alien Abduction, directed by Matty Beckerman, is a unique horror film; it showcases “actual leaked footage [of aliens],” which was found on “the camcorder of autistic 11 year old Riley Morris.” (Morris and his family disappeared the night they went camping at Brown Mountain, North Carolina.)

Brown Mountain is quite famous for their Brown Mountain Lights. These extraterrestrial lights have been seen as early as 1913 by a local fisherman.

And all hell breaks loose once Riley and his two siblings see the Brown Mountain Lights in 2014.

To be perfectly honest, when I first turned Alien Abduction on, I thought I was going to be disappointed. In the very first scene, I saw an alien hand holding a camcorder, and I instantly thought, “Wow, this is super lame.” Plus, everything was blurry, and frankly, I had no idea what the hell was going on.

But I gave it a few more minutes because I am interested in alien movies. (And guess what? It turned out to be a decent movie.)

Alien Abduction, unlike other horror movies, centers on a wonderful family. I found myself cheering for them, urging them on, and when family members died, my heart broke, and I cried.

Even though I appreciated this family, I still have a few issues regarding them. For instance, they were too damn loud. When running from aliens, one should probably shut up and lay low. Nah, not this family; they preferred to breathe loudly, crunch over twigs and bushes, and scream madly.

The Morris family also doesn’t understand how to stay hidden. Again, when running from aliens, should you: (1) extinguish all lights and hide in pure darkness or (2) shine your camera light in the alien’s face?

This family also leaves each other behind. While running through shrubbery, Riley’s sister, after Riley trips, continues to run away, leaving poor Riley, crying and scared, behind. Nice sister.

Because the Morris family does have a few issues, I was ecstatic when they bumped into Sean (Jeff Bowser), the helpful redneck. During the movie, Sean offers the family shelter, guns, gas, transportation, and hiding sports. Thank you, Sean, for being awesome!

Yet this useful redneck faces the same demise as the rest of the Morris family: abduction. Once the alien’s light touches you, your back snaps in half, and your arms snap backwards…and holy crap, it looked painful.

I have one final problem with the film, and it is when Riley’s camera, which has been taken into space with his crushed body, spirals back towards Earth and lands, perfectly, near Brown Mountain. I mean, wouldn’t the camera have landed elsewhere?

Overall, I would recommend Alien Abduction, and I want you to remember: “When them lights show up, bad shit gets to happening.”

To watch the trailer, click here.

Leave a Reply

